top of page

RAIN: A Mindfulness Tool

"Letting go gives us freedom, and freedom is the only condition for happiness. If, in our heart, we still cling to anything - anger, anxiety, or possessions -

we cannot be free."

- Thich Nhat Hanh

Scientific studies have demonstrated numerous benefits of mindfulness and the practice of letting go and self-compassion. Research conducted by neuroscientists has shown that regular mindfulness meditation can lead to structural changes in the brain, particularly in areas associated with attention, emotional regulation, and self-awareness. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology also demonstrated that self-compassion is associated with increased happiness, life satisfaction, and overall psychological well-being. It has also been linked to decreased levels of self-criticism, shame, and perfectionism.

The RAIN model, developed by Tara Brach, is a powerful and practical tool for cultivating mindfulness and compassion in our daily lives. RAIN stands for Recognize, Allow, Investigate, and Nurture, and it offers a step-by-step approach to working with challenging emotions, thoughts, and experiences.

R: recognize

The first step, Recognize, involves acknowledging and becoming aware of what is present in our inner landscape. This requires us to pause and notice our thoughts, feelings, and bodily sensations without judgment or resistance. By recognizing and accepting our experience, we create a foundation for healing and transformation.

A: allow

The second step of the RAIN model is Allow. Here, we practice accepting whatever arises in our awareness with a sense of openness and curiosity. In mindfulness, the term "letting go" does not mean to push away or suppress negative emotions or attachments. Instead, we cultivate a willingness to be with them fully. This allows us to create a spaciousness that can hold and contain our experiences without getting caught up in reactivity or avoidance. Through this process of allowing, we develop a sense of inner refuge and safety, enabling us to meet our experiences with compassion and presence.

I: investigate

Once we have recognized and allowed our experience, we move on to the third step of the RAIN model, which is Investigate. This step involves gently exploring and investigating the underlying causes and patterns of our thoughts, emotions, and behaviors. We inquire into the beliefs, fears, and desires that may be driving our reactions, cultivating a deeper understanding of ourselves and the roots of our suffering. This investigation is done with a spirit of curiosity and non-judgment, creating space for self-reflection and insight to arise.

N: nurture

The final step of the RAIN model is Nurture. After recognizing, allowing, and investigating, we intentionally offer care and compassion to ourselves. This step involves actively cultivating kindness, self-compassion, and love towards ourselves and our experience. We may offer soothing words, gestures of self-care, or simply a gentle presence to the parts of ourselves that are hurting or in need of healing. Through nurturing ourselves, we deepen our connection to our own innate goodness and develop a greater capacity to hold ourselves and others with compassion.

The RAIN model by Tara Brach provides a practical framework for working with challenging emotions and experiences. By recognizing, allowing, investigating, and nurturing, we can cultivate mindfulness, self-compassion, and healing in our lives. This model invites us to meet ourselves and our experiences with kindness, curiosity, and non-judgment, ultimately leading to greater self-awareness, freedom, and resilience.


bottom of page